alk to VC

KDU has eleven faculties and offers nearly 50 undergraduate degree programmes. Explore our Academic Programs to learn more about which degree programme is right for you. For a complete list of undergraduate degrees, please see the University prospectus.

Faculty of Engineering

Faculty of Engineering

The Faculty of Engineering, is the only national military educational Engineering Institution in Sri Lanka which was established in 2009. The faculty offers undergraduate and postgraduate degree programmes in nine disciplines under six Departments

  • BSc Eng. (Hons) in Aeronautical Engineering
  • BSc Eng. (Hons) in Biomedical Engineering
  • BSc Eng. (Hons) in Civil Engineering
  • BSc Eng. (Hons) in Electrical & Electronic Engineering
  • BSc Eng. (Hons) in Electronic & Telecommunication Engineering
  • BSc Eng. (Hons) in Mechanical Engineering
  • BSc Eng. (Hons) in Mechatronic Engineering
  • BSc Eng. (Hons) in Marine Engineering
  • BSc Eng. (Hons) in Naval Architecture & Marine Engineering

Faculty of Medicine​

The faculty follows a traditional medical curriculum spread over five years. In addition to the fourteen subjects taught at civilian medical schools, these students are exposed to Military, Aviation, Naval, Nuclear, Trauma and Emergency Medicine as MMS are trained to serve in the tri-forces.

  • MBBS
Faculty of Computing

Faculty of Computing

This is the first ever Computing Faculty in the Sri Lankan State University System dedicated to offer the widest spectrum of computing degrees under one umbrella of Computing, and all the computing degrees offered by FOC have been benchmarked with ACM/IEEE

  • BSc (Hons) Computer Science
  • BSc (Hons) Software Engineering
  • BSc (Hons) Computer Engineering
  • BSc (Hons) Information Technology
  • BSc (Hons) Information Systems
  • BSc (Hons) Data Science and Business Analytics

Faculty of Management, Social Sciences and Humanities

The Faculty of Management, Social Sciences and Humanities has been established under the restructuring program of the General Sir John Kotelawala Defence University in 2011. It consists of three departments namely Department of Management and Finance, Department of Social Sciences and Department of Languages.

  • BSc in Logistics Management
  • BSc in Management and Technical Sciences
  • BSc in Social Sciences
  • BSc in Applied Data Science Communication
  • BA in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL)
Faculty of Law

Faculty of Law

The Faculty which offers both undergraduate and post-graduate degree programmes provides them with a dynamic academic experience with an innovative curriculum. The commitment of the Faculty is to continue to be recognized as a well-equipped leading seat of Learning of Law among other competitive law schools at national, regional and international level.

  • Bachelor of Laws (LLB)
Faculty of Defence and Strategic Studies

Faculty of Defence and Strategic Studies

Welcome to the Faculty of Defence Studies and Strategic Studies A leading university with a global approach, General Sir John Kotelawala Defence University (KDU) is the only university offering graduate courses in defence studies in the South Asian region.

  • BSc Strategic Studies and International Relations
Faculty of Allied Health Sciences

Faculty of Allied Health Science

Faculty of Allied Health Sciences (FAHS) was established in November 2012 as the seventh faculty of General Sir John Kotelawala Defence University (KDU) and was initially housed in the Faculty of Medicine building in Ratmalana. The faculty shifted to its newly constructed state of the art building at Werahera in November 2014.

  • BSc (Hons) Nursing
  • BSc (Hons) Physiotherapy
  • BSc (Hons) Medical Laboratory Sciences
  • BSc (Hons) Radiography
  • BSc (Hons) Radiotherapy
  • Bachelor of Pharmacy (Hons)

Faculty of Built Environment and Spatial Sciences

The Faculty of Built Environment and Spatial Sciences (FBESS) stands proud as a quintessential academic entity in the KDU Southern Campus, armed with three industrious departments, specialized in the disciplines of Quantity Surveying, Surveying Sciences and Architecture, setting timely significant benchmarks for the resourceful academia and the studious undergraduates.

  • Bachelor of Architecture (B Arch)
  • BSc (Hons) Quantity Surveying
  • BSc (Hons) Surveying Sciences
  • BSc (Hons) in Industrial and Service
    Quality Management

Faculty of Technology

Studying at the Technology Faculty means joining our multidisciplinary student community on a vibrant, campus in Ratmalana.Not only that. You are coming to a University that is known to produce graduates with highest level of discipline and employability locally and Internationally.

  • BET (Hons) Construction Technology
  • BET (Hons) Building services Technology
  • BET (Hons) Biomedical Instrumentation Technology
  • BT (Hons) Information and Communication Technology

Faculty of Criminal Justice

Conducting programmes on Criminal Justice at tertiary education level is essential to ensure the system involved therein is just and efficient. Discourses on Criminal Justice at University level would result in bringing about much required proposals for reforms to the practices currently in place.

  • BSc in Criminology & Criminal Justice